THE COTTINGLEY SECRET by Hazel Gaynor & GIVEAWAY

#FRC2017

fairies

Do you believe in fairies?

BookSparks Fall Reading Challenge continues with THE COTTINGLEY SECRET (WilliamMorrow) by, Hazel Gaynor. The delicious story travels back and forth one hundred years.

In 1917, two cousins, Frances Griffith and Elsie Wright say they’ve photographed real fairies in their garden. The well-respected Sir Arthur Conan Doyle declares the photographs authentic and the cousins become a sensation in England.

One hundred years later, Olivia Kavanagh discovers an old manuscript in her small Irish harbor town bookstore.  It tells the story of fairies who captured a nation’s attention and the photograph stirs up an unsettling feeling in Olivia’s memories.

I love fairies. I believe in magic! I love magical realism, and I loved this book. Hazel Gaynor’s lyrical prose took me on journeys to both England and Ireland and I enjoyed the trips immensely. I recommend THE COTTINGLEY SECRETS for everyone to take and settle into a comfy sofa with a nice cup of tea, for a delightful afternoon read.

*****

hazel-gaynor-300x300

Hazel Gaynor is a New York Times bestselling, award-winning author, who lives in County Kildare, Ireland with her husband and two children. Her 2014 debut historical novel The Girl Who Came Home—A Novel of the Titanic hit the New York Times and USA Today bestseller lists, and went on to win the 2015 Historical Novel of the Year award from the Romantic Novelists’ Association in London. Her second novel A Memory of Violets, was also a New York Times bestseller, and her third, The Girl from The Savoy was an Irish Times and Globe & Mail bestseller. The book was also a finalist for the 2016 Irish Book Awards. All Hazel’s novels have been received to critical-acclaim and have been translated into a number of foreign languages. Her forthcoming titles in 2017 – The Cottingley Secret (August) and Last Christmas in Paris (October, co-written with Heather Webb) have already received an impressive array of early reviews.

You can connect with Hazel on her website http://www.hazelgaynor.com

booksparks

Thanks to BookSparks, we have a copy of THE COTTINGLEY SECRET to giveaway. Just tell us if you believe in fairies and why. We’ll announce a winner next month.

Have a lovely week!

oct-3

 

 

 

27 thoughts on “THE COTTINGLEY SECRET by Hazel Gaynor & GIVEAWAY

  1. I definitely believe in fairies. Those little nudges and special things you suddenly see and feel are those little fairies touching you with their wings to look around and peek at their secrets.

    Like

  2. Sounds like an enchanting story. And a new-to-me author. Of course I believe in fairies. When I’m reading I believe in everything!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. In real life I do not believe in fairies. Books take you away to that magical place where fairies exist and for that time I am reading the book, I believe.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. When I hear fairies, I immediately think of the splendid fairy godmother in Cinderella. So, yes, because of Cinderella I believe in fairies. Who doesn’t need a fairy godmother!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I want to believe in fairies I have a fairy rock house in my garden. I Love to read about fairies. Thank you for the chance.

    Like

  6. I love fairies as when I was in the foster home I always thought one of them would come and save me! I had read about them in a book at school and they were so pretty and magicial!

    Like

Leave a Reply

