THE DATING BENDER by Christina Julian & GIVEAWAY

image001

While second shots in life and romance are hard to come by, you can’t blame a gal for trying, and trying, and trying.

THE DATING BENDER (LimitlessPress) by debut author, Christina Julian is a laugh-out-loud satire about dysfunctional family relationships, women who love the wrong men, and one epic hunt for happily-ever-after. Can anyone reading this relate? Thought so.

*****

Here’s Samantha’s story … and she’s sticking to it!

“Here I am, on my knees in front of the Trevi Fountain, hoping like hell the legend is true. That the fountain gives you solace and love by a mere toss of a coin. Why am I here, exactly? Let’s see…

It started with my parents telling me to get married. Of course, being the good Catholic girl I am, I did. Needless to say, that marriage nose-dived, and my parents weren’t exactly happy about it.

Newly ditched and shamefully disowned, I decided to follow the advice of Babs, a tart-of-a-mentor, who offered me a job in Colorado. Her advice? Sex…and lots of it.

The temptation of freedom, to do whatever–to whoever–I wanted was too damn strong for me to say no. And that’s how it all started. The men, the sex, the journey… The dating bender. Because everybody deserves a do-over.”

*****

Samantha Serrano surely does deserve a do-over. She’s grown up in a dysfunctional family, tightly wrapped around the pious teachings of the Catholic Church. They seem to have missed the passage about not judging one other.

After Samantha’s wedding implodes – the one her father walked her up the aisle completely inebriated – Samantha is on the hunt for the perfect relationship. Soaked in the guilt of having gotten divorce and her families’ constant criticism, she finally breaks free following the advice of Babs – a woman without any hangups! We love the darling!

I enjoyed reading Christina’s rom-com, THE DATING BENDER. I could totally relate to the klumsy gal with a heart of gold. I personally remember going down a similar road, with a good amount of judgement by my side. From my perspective now, it’s funny to look back, but while I was in the thick of it, the laughs were few and hard to come by. Samantha is clumsy, drinks too much, works too hard and has lots of sex. I found myself cheering her own, as she spread her wings and became her own person. I enjoyed her perky, positive, personality, once she dropped off the remorse and shame. THE DATING BENDER is the perfect rom-com to sit down with a nice chilled Pinot grigio for a couple of hours. Once Samantha sets her eyes on a goal: in this case, A RELATIONSHIP … no one is going to judge her or get in her way.

Fabulous cover! I love the colors and the sassy attitude! FYI: Having grown up on Long Island, I can tell you South Hampton is spelled Southampton.

*****

christina

Christina Julian does the dance as a wine and food columnist by day, novelist by night. She grew up back East but now resides in Calistoga with her husband and their toddling twins. Her writing has appeared in the San Francisco Chronicle, Wine Enthusiast and Weddings California.

http://www.christinajulian.com

Thanks to her brilliant publicist, Ann-Marie, we have one copy of THE DATING BENDER to giveaway. Just tell us about your WORST date.

We’ll announce a winner next week.

 

Posted in Uncategorized

22 thoughts on “THE DATING BENDER by Christina Julian & GIVEAWAY

  1. Worst date was a blind date with someone a friend thought I should meet. He doesn’t really look like my type and as he opened the car door for me, I thought I would gag. The absolute worst smelling men’s cologne ever smelled like it had been poured over every surface of his car. Maybe he even made his own in the car. Within 10 minutes I was telling him to take me home cause I had a migraine coming on. I immediately got in the shower and spent a looong time washing the carryover stink of that stuff off. I never heard from him again, thanks be to God!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I suppose my worst date was when I was going to attend an award dinner/dance thrown at a fancy hotel. Many of us were staying at the hotel for the night. My coworker/date brought another male coworker with him. Not as a date but as a buffer. Awkward.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. My very first date, as a senior in HS. With my crush; we doubled with his sister and her boyfriend. Went to drive-in movie, they made out like crazy in backseat. We were both very shy and just slunk down in front seat so could barely see the movie! First and last with him!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I met a guy at his place because the restaurant was close by and he put dinner off to watch a basketball game. Finally when we went for food his roommate came with us and kept bad mouthing and saying really distespectful things about a girl he was with at the apartment earlier. First and last date.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. My worst date was going with my husband down 280 with no undergarmets on only to find out that wew were driving past his girlfriends house that he had for awhile , That is the first and last time i did that and in fact after that I divorced him he remarried the girl and then he passed 4 years later.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. My worst date was when I was left to sit and wait in his car for an hour or more while he visited friends in their house. I couldn’t leave as it was late and too far to walk home.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. worst date was when I went out with a friend of a friend-they said we would get along so well but oh boy we didn’t…..it was horrible

    Liked by 1 person

  8. The only blind date I did was as a favorite for my sister and it was a disaster!!! I did not think the night would ever end, he thought a good way to get to know each other would be to take a shower together😜😜😜. This really happened!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I also grew up on Long Island! Worst date; my date arrived 2 hours early so that he wouldn’t miss watching Dance Fever! Then he actually yelled at my siblings because they were making too much noise during “his” show. I sent him home (he lived 45 minutes away), and that was the end of him!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

