BEFORE WE WERE YOURS by Lisa Wingate & GIVEAWAY

** GIVEAWAY CLOSED **

 

Before-We-Were-Yours-Cover-Web-Res-1-676x1024

There are occasions when I start a novel based on a time in our country’s history and I feel sick. Lisa Wingate’s brilliant novel, BEFORE WE WERE YOURS (BallantineBooks) is one such example. She manages to turn the true story about a woman in charge of the Memphis, Tennessee Children’s Home Society, who kidnapped and sold children – creating the great market of kicking flesh and blood babies – to wealthy families across the country illegally, into a thought-provoking story of sibling love and deeply buried secrets.

Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four siblings live a life of wonder on their family’s Mississippi River shanty boat, the Arcadia. One night while their father rushes their mother, Queenie to the hospital, they are left alone, until strangers show up. The children are taken to the Tennessee Children’s Home Society and told they will soon be able to go home to their parents. But they don’t and soon realize the awful truth. They are prisoners of the facility’s cruel director and it’s up to Rill to protect her brother and sisters.

Aiken, South Carolina. Present day. Avery Stafford has it all – a successful career, gorgeous finance and an over the top wedding planned. But when she comes home to help her father with a health crisis, she faces a situation that leads her to question her family’s long hidden past. It’s a path that will take Avery down a road to either ruin or redemption.

Have you ever connected with characters that you kept reading until you finished the novel? That’s what happened with me and BEFORE WE WERE YOURS.  Lisa’s writing is lyrical, poetic and knowing the story is inspired by true events have me hooked. I cared so much for the Foss children, I couldn’t leave them. I somehow felt responsible for them, in my own way. Perhaps that sounds odd, but I think you will understand when you read BEFORE WE WERE YOURS.

*****

lisawingLisa Wingate is a former journalist, inspirational speaker, and bestselling author of more than twenty novels. Her work has won or been nominated for many awards, including the Pat Conroy Southern Book Prize, the Oklahoma Book Award, the Utah Library Award, The Carol Award, the Christy Award, and the RT Booklovers Reviewer’s Choice Award.

The group Americans for More Civility, a kindness watchdog organization, selected Lisa along with six others as recipients of the National Civics Award, which celebrates public figures who work to promote greater kindness and civility in American life. Booklist summed up her work by saying, “Lisa Wingate is, quite simply, a master storyteller.” More information about her novels can be found at  www.lisawingate.com.

We are so fortunate to have one copy of BEFORE WE WERE YOURS signed by Lisa Wingate to giveaway. Just tell us what’s the latest literary novel you’ve read and really connected with. We’ll announce a winner next Friday.

28 thoughts on “BEFORE WE WERE YOURS by Lisa Wingate & GIVEAWAY

  1. I really connected with a recent novella by Fredrick Backman called And Every Morning the Way Home gets Longer and Longer. It’s about aging and I am currently spending a lot of time with my 93 year old mother so the book met a lot to me.
    I would love to win a copy of Before We were Yours after reading your review. This book sounds like wonderful.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. The last few books that I’ve read have been thrillers. Luckily, my life isn’t like them! I am very interested in reading this book. I live about 15 minutes from Aiken, SC. It’s a small town so I’m interested in how it’s portrayed. Thanks for the opportunity to win!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The Gypsy Moth Summer by Julia Fierro .set in a small beach town carnivals high school cliques small town gossip .Brings me back to summertime for me,

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A Certain Age by Beatrix Williams. I related to almost all of the characters and loved them and rooted for them and cried for them. Thank you for this giveaway. Sounds great.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wish Me Home by Kay Bratt. I really connected with the main character and her dog. Her emotional journey through her physical journey really resounded with me. It is months later now and I still think about the book, I also think about if someone needed my help what al I could do to help them

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The Lost Daughter by Diane Chamberlain was an amazing story, you connected with the main character CeeCee, instantly. I would be thrilled to read this novel and the reviews are a big 5 star.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. The Secret Life Of CeeCee Wilkes by Diane Chamberlain was so good. It was hard to move on to another book after reading it. Characters stuck with you.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I loved reading: BECOMING BONNIE by Jenni L Walsh. This is the first part of the story of Bonnie Parker and how she meets Clyde. ( that’s near the end of this Book One) Bonnie was a really good girl who had great plans for her life. But, stuff! happens that we don’t plan on, in all of our lives. That’s how I see a lot of my own life! Anyone who reads this novel, will love it. I can’t wait for Book Two: BEING BONNIE to come out in 2018. The book: BEFORE WE WERE YOURS sounds very good, also. It seems to be about how circumstances in our lives happen and take us where we hadn’t planned to go. Just the way Bonnie Parker’s life turned in ways she never thought it would.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. The most recent book I’ve read that I connected with the characters is The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck. I was totally involved with these women and learning about what happened to them, their lives, and their families as a consequence of WWII.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Angel Sister by ann H Gabhart it was so good and the girl she writes about you feel so sorry for her I really got involved in the book and have recommended it so many times. It sits on my book cabinet!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. The Life She Was Given-Ellen Marie Wiseman was a riveting book for me. Ellen gives you gut punch stories that leave an impact on you. I’m hearing great things about Lisa’s newest book. Sounds like my kind of story. Thanks for the chance.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We got to meet Ellen Marie Wiseman last month at BookExpo, and have an autographed copy of her novel, THE LIFE SHE WAS GIVEN to give away at the end of July. So glad to hear you enjoyed it,

      Like

  12. The Stars are Fire by Anita Shreve. Grace Holland is the face of abuse so many women encounter in their lives. I also liked it was based on a true incident in a beach community in Maine.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. The one I’m reading now, The Salt House by Lisa Duffy. While I can’t say I’ve experienced loss like they have, I know how hard it is to fight for relationships and get through days amidst grief.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. The Two-Family House by Lynda Cohen Loigman is the book that I can’t get out of my mind even though I have started a new one. I related to one of the characters since I had a family secret presented to me too several years ago that changed my life…for the better!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. The novel that I read and really enjoyed was The Education of Dixie Dupree by Donna Everhart. I liked that it took place during the time I was growing up and could really imagine what Dixie’s life must of felt like. Great book in my opinion.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. The Hope Chest by Viola Shipman–I love stories about families and how memories of things hold a family together and also help with the next stage of life.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I just finished The Feathered Bone by Julie Cantrell.
    It’s hard to deal with abduction, but, as a mother/grandmother, I could resonate with the feelings and obsession of finding the child.
    I look forward to reading Lisa Wingate’s book, Before We Were Yours. Just touching the inner core of oneself in reading these types of stories.
    Thank you, Cindy, for the chance. I appreciate this!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. The one I’m reading now, One Good Mama Bone, by Bren McClain is destined to be a favorite of mine. So well-written, animals are some of the main characters, and it’s just a great story. I love Lisa’s books, and this newest one is so intriguing – to learn about something that happened in history that was unknown to me before. Happy weekend, Cindy and everyone!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. The last book I read that I really connected with was THE WIND IS NOT A RIVER by Brian Payton. I read it recently although it’s not a new book.

    Like

  20. I just finished The Map That Leads to you by J.P. Monninger. Three just recently college graduates traveling Europe in the Summer before they start their careers. Though I am not a recent college graduate, I have traveled through Europe with friends.

    Like

  21. The Mermaid’s Daughter by Ann Claycomb really resonated with me because it was based off on Hans Christian Anderson’s The Little Mermaid and I’ve loved that movie ever since I was little. Though I’m not a mermaid, I have suffered loss before, especially losing someone you love.

    Like

  22. I often get entwined in the lives of the characters in books….some just hold on longer. One from when I was a teenager: Mrs. Mike.
    Recently, The Far End of Happy by Kathryn Craft, A Beautiful Terrible Thing by Jen Waite, and My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry by Fredrick Backman

    Like

Leave a Reply

