BookSparks’ Summer Reading Challenge, WOMAN No. 17 by Edan Lepucki & GIVEAWAY

 

slider-src-may-600x208

woman 17

BookSparks’ Summer Reading Challenge continues with best-selling author, Edan Lepucki’s new novel, WOMEN NO. 17 (Hogarth). Lepucki knows how to zero in on what makes southern California unique and is able to capitalize on every nuance in la-la land, providing entertainment for readers not found anywhere else.
 
High, oh so high, up in the Hollywood Hills, writer Lady Daniels, whose real name is Pearl but that doesn’t concern us, has decided to take a break from her husband, Karl, who will soon seem like the most normal person in this novel. But trust me, that is not a bad thing. Lady proceeds to find and hire “S”, whose real name is most certainly not S, off Craigslist to care for her sons from two previous marriages. Devin is soon to be three and eighteen year-old, Seth, may or may not be on the spectrum, but either way, he doesn’t talk. Lady needs time so she can write her memoir and currently she’s suffering writer’s block.

So S arrives, settles into the guest house and life begins to change; not right away, but little but little. S starts drawing everyone into her orbit, and becomes Lady’s confidante. Secrets start coming out of the dark, woodwork, closet and finding their way into the light of day. The glue that Lady has used to keep her family together starts coming undone. It’s a classic tale of people behaving very badly. And ooh, it’s so much fun!

*****

booksparksThanks to BookSparks for providing a copy of WOMAN No. 17 for an honest review and a giveaway. Just tell us something you love or hate about Los Angeles. I love LA, particularly Westwood, but the taxes and the traffic really suck.

 

 

17 thoughts on “BookSparks’ Summer Reading Challenge, WOMAN No. 17 by Edan Lepucki & GIVEAWAY

  1. I have never been to California….period!! Never had the chance. Would love to actually finally win one of these. God please let it be my time. I want to read and review this book!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I have never been to California….period!! Never had the chance. Would love to actually finally win one of these. God please let it be my time. I want to read and review this book! Thanks so much for the chance.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve never been to CA either! I’d love to go, it’s just so far away. I’m sure the traffic is awful so I wouldn’t like that but no one does. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have been to LA a couple times. Each time I see something new. Last time we enjoyed Westwood and my daughter was a teen and we did a TMZ Tour. My first visit with my husband, almost 30 years ago was fun, because we rented a a red BMW and drove around Beverly Hill and the Hollywood Hills. No GPS, just a paper map and following the signs. I would like to see a show at the famed Whisky someday.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

