INTO THE WATER by Paula Hawkins & GIVEAWAY

***GIVEAWAY CLOSED***

slider-src-may-600x208

water

“No one liked to think about the fact that the water in that river was infected with the blood and bile of persecuted women, unhappy women; they drank it every day.” INTO THE WATER

The wait is over. Readers can release their collective-held breath. GIRL ON THE TRAIN author, Paula Hawkins,’ new novel, INTO THE WATER (RiverheadBooks) has been published! She takes readers to a place “where desperate people go to end it all.” No matter which way you turn in the small British town of Beckford, you end up at the river. The river cuts like steel, snaking through the forest, slowing down before finally resting at the Beckford Drowning Pool. Women have been drowning there since 1679.

Danielle Abbott, a writer and photographer, who’s also the single mother of a teenager is dead. Did she jump? Was it murder? Before her death, she was working on a coffee-table book about the Drowning Pool, and her daughter’s best friend also drown. Danielle’s estranged sister, Jules, do not call her Julia, returns to town to identify her sister’s body. In Beckford, she’s met by the same creepiness that caused her to leave years ago, and her grieving niece, Lena. Police Investigator, Erin Morgan is brought in to work the case.

“Seriously,” she comments, “how is anyone supposed to keep track of all the bodies around here?”

Well, if she can’t, don’t expect it to be easy for readers. It wasn’t for me. Between the alternating narratives and subplots, I was lost most of the time. I usually find something positive to focus on when writing about a novel, but frankly, I was disappointed. I went into, INTO THE WATER expecting to be WOWED, but wowed, I was not. It was work trying to keep all the characters straight. Perhaps screenwriters will have a better job adapting INTO THE WATER into a film, because I’m sure it will no doubt find its way on to the big screen.

paula

PAULA HAWKINS worked as a journalist for fifteen years before turning her hand to fiction. She is the author of The Girl on the Train and Into the Water. An international #1 bestseller, The Girl on the Train was published in 50 countries and over 40 languages. It has sold over 18 million copies worldwide and has been adapted into a major motion picture. Hawkins was born in Zimbabwe and now lives in London.

booksparks

Thanks to BookSparks and Riverhead Books, we have one copy of Paula Hawkins,’ INTO THE WATER to giveaway. Since just about everyone in the world has seen GIRL ON THE TRAIN, just tell us whether you enjoyed the book or the movie version better.

We’ll announce a winner Monday.

Posted in Uncategorized

23 thoughts on “INTO THE WATER by Paula Hawkins & GIVEAWAY

  1. I am one of the few people on the planet who have not seen this movie. Lol
    I really enjoyed the book though and am excited to read INTO THE WATER. Thank you for the chance 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I liked both of them! Usually, I prefer the book to the movie but this time it came out equal!! Thanks for a chance to win this coveted novel!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks so much for your review. With so many books out there it’s hard to prioritize, especially with the hype that can convince you that you must read a book, even if your inner voice is asking why. I enjoyed The Girl on the Train well enough but, really, by the end I just wanted to finish it to see who did what, and wasn’t at all interested in seeing the movie. No need to enter me in the giveaway. Just wanted to acknowledge your honest review that was helpful to this reader.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The movie moved much faster than the book did. I think I would have felt more comfortable if the actress/actors were more as the book portrays them.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I definitely enjoyed the book better. There is always so much more content and character development in a book as opposed to the movie adaptation. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and am looking forward to reading this new one; thanks for the opportunity to win a copy.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Unfortunately I’ve neither read the book NOR read the movie (I know, I know). I have a copy of the book though and am planning on reading it… now… 🙂 Thanks for the chance to win her newest release! How exciting!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I definitely liked the book better. There were some key details left out of the movie that made all the difference for me while reading the book.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I haven’t seen it before nor have I read it. I usually leave thrill books for my summer vacation and that’s what I’m doing this year 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

