THE SISTERS of BLUE MOUNTAIN by Karen Katchur & GIVEAWAY

sisters

“Spring came early the year the birds fell from the sky.”

That’s the opening line of Karen Katchur’s new novel, THE SISTERS of BLUE MOUNTAIN (ThomasDunne/St.MartinsPress). Suddenly, hundreds of snow geese migrating from Pennsylvania to Canada, are dropping dead all over the property of Linnet Jenkins’ Bed and Breakfast and washing up on the dam. This is at the height of the season when tourists come to stay at the B&B, specifically see the birds, tens of thousands of them fly overhead, creating a snow globe appearance.

Soon the media is all over the small town. Her father, Dr. Henry Jenkins, a well-respected bird expert, past his prime is being hounded by reporter’s questions he has no answers to. A young, ambitious professor from the University is brought in to take over for him. The story goes national and after seeing it in Florida on TV, estranged sister and daughter, Myna comes to town.

In addition to facing the current turmoil in their lives, the sisters are forced to look back and reconcile with a serious mistake that they made together as teenagers. Did they commit a crime? Was it morally wrong? Does the fact they were teenagers make it okay? Was the way they grew up a cause?

Writing a novel about sisters always poses a unique set of possibilities (and potential landmines) for the writer.  There’s the shared intimacy, the potential for jealousy, envy, the list goes on, but what I find most interesting is, what is not spoken or communicated. Sisters have a distinct way of “just knowing” that no one outside that bond understands. It’s subtle, but Karen creates it between Linnet and Myna. She walks a fine line, but is able to capture the reconciliation, which I really didn’t think was going to be possible and it’s real.

A lot goes on in THE SISTERS of BLUE MOUNTAIN but the focus for me was the relationship between the sisters and the takeaway was don’t let anything come between sisters.

*****

karenpicture

Karen Katchur holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Criminal Justice from West Chester University and a Masters of Education degree from East Stroudsburg University. She is an active member of International Thriller Writers and Mystery Writers of America. She lives in Eastern Pennsylvania with her husband and two children. She enjoys running and tennis and playing with her flat coat retriever, Tucker and her cat, Carly.

We have one copy of Karen’s novel, THE SISTERS of BLUE MOUNTAIN. Just tell us about your relationship with your sister, or brother, or what it’s like to be an only child. We’ll announce a winner Monday. Happy Spring.

5-tulips

15 thoughts on “THE SISTERS of BLUE MOUNTAIN by Karen Katchur & GIVEAWAY

  1. I’m an identical twin so our bond is strong. We fight about it and forget about it but we also speak in tandem and know what each other is thinking.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am the youngest of 5 and the only girl to boot. My brothers are 9,8,7,4 years older than me. We lost our 2nd brother 5 years ago and it devastated my 3rd brother. So my younger brother, who is four years older than me, and I take turns making sure our 3rd brother is doing okay, and if he needs extra support my brother and I text each other and say “Hey, he is having a rough time, tag your it.” Then we take turns contacting him and then we compare notes and decide which one of us is better equipped to deal with his issue.

    I recently went up and spent the night at my 4th brother’s house. We hadn’t done that in years. We had a real pleasant time visiting and sharing a piece of ourselves. We have all felt kinda separated through the grief of our brother 5 years and our dad followed a year later. You never know when life is going to take the ones you love.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m an only child. It has its ups and downs. I learned how to entertain myself so I never feel bored but it was oftentimes lonely.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m lucky enough to have three sisters. However they all live in Florida so we don’t get to see each other much. We do stay connected via social media and such. I miss them dearly but am so thankful we are close to each other. After the loss of our mother we need each other for support.My sisters are very special women!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I am the youngest of 3 girls….we are very spread out in ages, almost 7 or 8 years between each. My oldest sister was my second Mom and best friend. My middle sister and I fought constantly. My oldest passed when I was 24, she was 39, my middle sister was 32. Since that blow, my middle sister and I have learned life is short and are very close!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great beginning to the story. Have to read this.

    I’m the oldest of 4. Not much contact with the 2 younger brothers, but my sister and I are veryclose. We have the same good – and not so good – memories and are always there for each other. On the other hand, we are both about retirement age and it was only at our most recent visit that she didn’t say, “Oh, I see you are still coloring your hair.” and I didn’t reply, “Well, I can see you’re not.” Sisters. Love mine dearly.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m the middle child and only girl. I have two brothers. I do keep in touch with them and we have family get-togethers, but we’re not close. Our differences in beliefs make it hard to be close, but we do love each other.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I had one brother, but he passed away 6 years ago. We were very close but argued all the time. He was four years older and always looked out for me. I miss him tremendously and enjoy reading about sibling relationships in books.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I am the youngest. My sister is ten years older than me and my brother eight years older. It was like the best of both worlds, because when they moved out when I was nine or ten, it was like being an only child.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I have a sister and brother with whom I am not close, but they get along well with each other, and contact each other very often, but keep me at arm’s length, especially my bother who wants nothing to do with me.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I have four sisters, 3 older and 1 younger. My two oldest sisters are 11 and 14 years older than me so it was mostly the 3 of us younger sisters growing up together. I am closest to the second in line. We both have a love of reading.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

