THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR by Shari Lapena & Giveaway

CoupleNextDoor

I was thrilled I choose Shari Lapena’s, THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR (Viking) as my pick for Book of the Month club. I’ve been looking forward to reading this novel, since I first heard about it, and it totally lives up to all the hype. If you haven’t read THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR, you simply must!

Anne and Marco Conti appear to be the perfect couple and they are in many ways, except they make a really bad decision. That decision isย the premise for THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR.

It’s been a long time since Anne and Marco have been out socially, because they have a newborn. Then the next door neighbors invite them over for a birthday party. Their babysitter cancels, but Marco pushes for them to go to dinner anyway, since it’s only next door and the homes are connected side by sides. They decide to leave their six-month-old daughter home alone checking on her every half hour. They have a baby monitor and Anne and Marco can hear her sleeping. What can go wrong? How about everything?

When Anne and Marco return drunk around 1 am, the front door is ajar and baby Cora is gone.

Detective Rasbach arrives at the scene, immediately suspects the parents knowing they are keeping information from him. Anne is clearly upset and the police find anti-depressants for postpartum depression, which sets off “cop-dar.” Anne’s parents are weathly, so cops consider maybe they’re the targets for ransom. Something is not right between Marco and his father-in-law; the hostility is palatable. Rasbach has worked hundreds of cases like this. They usually don’t end up well, but he’s determined to get to the truth, even if everyone tries to stonewall him.

The omniscient narrator is a strong guiding force throughout the novel. The plot twists are many, the narrative tight and focused, which keeps the pace ย of THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR moving along to a satisfying ending. I didn’t suspect what happens at all.

For ALL things Shari, check her out on Facebook, Twitter @sharilapena ย or her website http://www.sharilapena.com

We have one copy of THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR to giveaway. Tell us who your favorite suspense/thriller writer is. We’ll announce a winner Saturday, October 1st.

Good luck and have a great week!

23 thoughts on “THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR by Shari Lapena & Giveaway

  1. Not commenting to enter. I won this book from Jenny O’Regan and I loved this book! Loved it, loved it. Great pacing throughout and then the surprises! I truly enjoyed this book!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I have loved Mary Kubica ev er since I read The Good Girl. All of her books are great. I have been wantiy to read this book for a while now. Would be thrilled to with ! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Latest fav thriller writer is Mark Kubica. I would buy anything she writes. I am a long time thriller reader and in my opinion, the grand dame is Ruth Rendell. Sadly she died last year, but she had written more than 60 books in her career. Amazing.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Karin Slaughter and Mary Kubica are my top two! I don’t really want to pick between the two…it would be like picking my favorite child! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I just finished my first book by Mary Kubica. It was so good and I stayed up all night to finish it. I can’t wait to read this one. I also read “I Let You Go” this summer. It was really good too.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. My last favorite thrillers were Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris and and The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson so I will go with those two authors.

    Like

Leave a Reply

