THE A$$I$TANT$ by Camille Perri

assistants

slider-summer2-940x326

BookSparks, Summer Reading Challenge #SRC2016  #BESTSUMMEREVER continues with Camille Perri’s THE A$$I$TANT$ (Putnam).

The publishing world loves to publish books authored by and more often than not about women who have been assistants for bitches (The Devil Wears Prada) or in Camille Perri’s, THE A$$I$TANT$ (Putnam), schmucks – lots of them! These girls are sick and tired of being under-appreciated, living paycheck to paycheck and in the case of THE A$$I$TANT$, when they get a window of opportunity to take what they believe is entitled to them, they pounce!

Tina Fontana has been working for the CEO, Robert Barlow of Titan Corp., a media behemoth, for six-years. He along with all his fellow male top Execs patronize women, thinking their being polite. One day Barlow’s expense account is messed up, Tina receives a check made out to her for the amount of what would cover her NYU-college student loan. “I could have savings.” WHAT DO YOU DO? If you’re Tina, you pay off your student loan, but someone finds out. They always do. Soon there’s a revolution of underpaid assistants tired of playing by the rules wanting their piece of the Titan Corp. pie. There’s only so much to go around, or is there?

And of course, there’s a hot romance, but stick to the money story. Get a copy of THE A$$ISTANT$, and put it in your beach bag. Maybe it’ll give you a new perspective on your career, then again, maybe not.

Camille is an incredible writer. Her first person narrative is tight, fast-paced, it reminds me of an early Augusten Burroughs; that’s a very good thing.

Now I must finish by adding, this is a funny novel, revenge is secured. But at the risk of seeming Pollyanna, which my husband often calls me, I couldn’t reconcile the whole stealing thing. Maybe it’s my strict Catholic upbringing – somethings never leave you. I know, I know, it’s fiction. Well, I know, I know, this is my review.

For all things CAMILLE, check her out on twitter @camilleperri

Keep checking back for more BookSparks SUMMER READING CHALLENGE 2016, Best Summer Ever!

#SRC2016  #BestSummerEver   #TheBestSummerEver  #TheAssistants #Putnam

booksparks

13181547_100141400409472_1569254109_n(1)

2 thoughts on “THE A$$I$TANT$ by Camille Perri

  1. I’m delighted to read this book to see if the assistant experiences were as challenging as some of time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

