THE GOLDEN SON by Shilpi Somaya Gowda & GIVEAWAY

The-Golden-Son-cover-199x300

When I start reading a novel, I’m usually drawn to one of three things; either the plot, which is comprised of the main sequences that make up the story. It’s how the author organizes the events, determining the structure of the narrative. It’s also important that an author creates three-dimensional characters, “people” I come to know. I don’t have to necessarily like those characters, but it takes a special talent for a writer to develop such “people” on the page.

Finally, I’m intrigued by the locales authors are setting today’s contemporary novels. One day the narrative can be set in an Arizona trailer park, then another at a five-star resort on the French Riviera and then this novel, THE GOLDEN SON (William Morrow), by bestselling author, Shilpi Somaya Gowda, situated in a small remote village, in India.

THE GOLDEN SON has all three of the above-mentioned elements; a fascinating setting, well-developed and intriguing characters and a plot that holds your attention, so you’re compelled to keep reading once you begin the novel.

“The Golden Son,” Anil Patel, is the first one in his family to go to college. He carries the weight of his family’s expectations when he leaves his tiny Indian village to become a doctor in Dallas, Texas, at one of the most cut-throat hospitals in America. When his father dies, Anil becomes the de facto head of the Patel household and inherits the mantle of arbiter for all of the village’s disputes. He must take a monthly phone meeting with India to fulfill his duty. He’s uneasy with the custom, not sure he has the wisdom and he’s also trying to adjust to his new culture and job in America.

Back home in India, Anil’s closest childhood friend, Leena struggles to become the “good wife” her demanding husband and his relatives want. Arranged by her parents, the marriage shatters Leena’s romantic hopes, and eventually forces her to make a desperate choice that holds drastic repercussions for her and her family. Though Anil and Leena struggle to come to terms with their identities thousands of miles apart, their lives eventually intersect once more, changing them both and the people they love forever.

I loved THE GOLDEN SON. As an American, it introduced cultural traditions completely unknown to me. I often found myself angry by how the women were treated, but I was reacting based on my upbringing. I was saddened by how Anil and his friends were treated by ignorant and prejudice Americans, and unfortunately that ignorance and intolerance still exists.

THE GOLDEN SON reveals so many opposites those caught between two cultures face – the past and present, tradition and modernity, duty and choice and the painful decisions made to find true selves. But at its heart, THE GOLDEN SON is about family, honor, tradition, identity and love.

Add to Goodreads badge

Purchase Links

Amazon | IndieBound | Barnes & Noble

Shilpi Somaya Gowda APAbout Shilpi Somaya Gowda

Shilpi Somaya Gowda was born and raised in Toronto to parents who migrated there from Mumbai. She holds an MBA from Stanford University and a BA from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. In 1991, she spent a summer as a volunteer in an Indian orphanage. She has lived in New York, North Carolina, and Texas, and currently makes her home in California with her husband and children.

Find out more about Shilpi at her website, and connect with her on Facebook and Twitter.

Thanks to TLC Book Tours http://www.tlcbooktours.com and William Morrow Publishing we have one copy of THE GOLDEN SON to giveaway. Just leave a comment about a tough decision you felt stronger after making … something about family would be great, but share whatever you want! We’ll choose a winner Monday. Good luck.

You can always check out other reviews and news about my novel, “Viewer Discretion Advised” at http://www.cindyroesel.com   Have a great weekend.

tlc logo

14 thoughts on “THE GOLDEN SON by Shilpi Somaya Gowda & GIVEAWAY

  1. My husband&i grew up in a small neighborhood in Brooklyn we married young&moved to California for school.we left both our families moved to a place we knew know one.It Was scary but it bonded us made us strong together .

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As much as I would love to have my “golden years”, my husband and I decided that we would help our child and partner with raising their son instead of having him go to daycare (they don’t have the income for it anyway). I have him five days a week–tiring but we do get the benefit of being close grandparents.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I come from a somewhat conservative Indian-Muslim family. We moved to HK when I was very little and growing up, my opinions have always clashed with those of my parents because my values are influenced by the local culture. In high school, I was known as a very outgoing and energetic kid. I made friends easily. I hung out with the “popular kids” who were highly “Westernized” (in local terms). But as we got older, the hangouts in malls and parks turned into late night shenanigans in bars and clubs with the help of fake IDs. My parents expect me to not drink, smoke, and do drugs. My friends would tell me that it’s not cool to follow rules or listen to my parents all the time. Some even suggested that my parents are toxic. And then came a time when I had to choose between “being cool” and “being respectful to my parents”. My teenager self so badly wanted to be cool and popular. I just wanted to be reckless and live by the YOLO motto. But at the same time, I knew I could never forgive myself if I disappoint and hurt my loving parents. Because they worked (and still work) so hard to give me a life they never had and to give me the best future I could possibly have. They sent me to private schools despite the high costs when my cousins went to public ones. They pay my university tuition. I don’t work (because I’m lazy) and so they cover my daily expenses and never have they once complained. They try their best to be open-minded and see things from my perspective. They have ALWAYS been there for me. So I followed my mind (which completely contradicts the saying “Follow your heart”) and chose my parents over the popularity my teenage heart yearned for. And as the days passed, I realized it wasn’t my parents who were toxic; it was my friends. They didn’t respect my decision to obey my parents and they didn’t care much about my opinions. And eventually, I got rid of them (or they got rid of me) and I am happy that happened because now, I have fewer but more real friends on whom I can spend my energy. I also have a great relationship with my parents. Many of my old friends don’t. I am now 21 and I am proud to say that I find happiness in my sober self. And I also learnt a few lessons early in life: 1) Family always comes first and 2) Real friends are also family even if DNA results say otherwise.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Cindy, you haven’t picked the winner for this giveaway. Wondering if I can submit my answer now cause this book looks lovely!

    Like

Leave a Reply

