THE ART OF CRASH LANDING by Melissa DeCarlo & GIVEAWAY

The Art of Crash Landing (430x648)

“When you’re ass deep in lemons, you start looking for a shovel, not a pitcher and a cup of sugar.”

In Melissa DeCarlo’s, THE ART OF CRASH LANDING (HARPER), pregnant, penniless and with her life stuffed into six giant trash bags, you could say, Mattie Wallace is living a real-bad country song! Just as she plays out the cards in her relationship with her boyfriend in the Florida panhandle, she gets news of a possible inheritance from a grandma she never met in Grandy, Oklahoma. Mattie packs up her ’78 Chevy Malibu and drives 800 miles arriving on fumes with a dead transmission and no money. As much as she tries to block it out, Mattie wakes up to the fact she’s turning into her late mother; a broken down alcoholic who never came across a bad choice she didn’t make.

“I’m thinking about how fluid the border is between crazy and interesting, and how hard it is to decide who belongs where.”

The girl the folks in Grandy describe as Mattie’s mother, don’t match up to her memories of her mama. Mattie knows there are deep secrets and that something bad happened years back in Grandy. She sets her sites on finding out what happened, knowing it’s the only way she’ll be able to break the cycle and be whole.

THE ART OF CRASH LANDING introduces a fresh new clever voice in fiction. It’s hard to believe this is Melissa’s debut novel. The one-liners keep the reader amused, but the raw exposed wounds and sensitivity underneath are never completely covered. Everyone, and if you don’t, now you do, knows humor comes out of pain. Mattie certainly has had her share, but she’s not a victim. I challenge you not to fall in love with Mattie. She’s my new BFF.

“I have ninja skills when it comes to screwing things up. It’s like a superpower only lamer.”

Add to Goodreads badge

Purchase Links

Amazon | IndieBound | Barnes & Noble

About Melissa DeCarlom

Melissa DeCarlo was born and raised in Oklahoma City. The Art of Crash Landing is her first novel. Melissa now lives in East Texas with her husband and a motley crew of rescue animals.

Find out more about Melissa at her website, and connect with her on Facebook and Twitter.

tlc logo

**GIVEAWAY HAS ENDED**

Thanks to TLC Book Tours http://www.tlcbooktours.com and HARPER BOOKS for providing a copy of THE ART OF CRASH LANDING for an honest review.

We have a copy to giveaway to one of you lucky THOUGHTS on THIS ‘N THAT readers in the USA. Just make sure you’ve become a follower of this blog and leave your name in the comments section and we’ll pick a winner Friday. To make it fun, tell us what you plan on dressing up as on Halloween, if you plan on dressing up. Personally, dressing up isn’t my thing, but I do love my mini-snickers!

You can always check out more reviews and news about my novel, “Viewer Discretion Advised” at http://www.cindyroesel.com   Have a great week and good luck!

Posted in Uncategorized

15 thoughts on “THE ART OF CRASH LANDING by Melissa DeCarlo & GIVEAWAY

  1. I love seeing little kids in Halloween costumes. I, personally, don’t dress up. I, also, like those mini-snickers. I used to raid my children’s candies for those. I don’t mind adults dressing up if they come up with some really creative costumes. The little ones probably enjoy seeing the adults dress up as much as I enjoy seeing them on the little kids.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have not dressed up in a donkey’s age, but the last time was when my daughter was in middle school. I was the terrible substitute teacher. I’ll try to post a pic on FB! Thanks for the chance.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So cool to receive an email from you, Melissa, the author. We’re just so thrilled that you wrote such a wonderful novel and we have the opportunity to enjoy it. Thank you and we look forward to the next one! xx

    Like

  4. I don’t dress up anymore. I used to love Halloween, but the types of people we have in our hood the last few years, aren’t exactly the kind you want coming to the door after dark. So, we don’t do Halloween anymore. Thanks for the chance to win this book!

    Like

  5. I do not usually dress up for Halloween but this year we’ve been invited to a Halloween party and I’m thinking of maybe dressing up as the Barefoot Contessa and having my husband be her husband Jeffrey. (They kind of look alike!) Maybe I’ll carry around a roast chicken on a platter as part of the whole look!! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

