ROOVILLE a novel by Julie Long & GIVEAWAY

roovillefinal

“Of course, I should have remembered another rule of thumb, the one about going home again: namely you can’t”

That’s one of Owen Martin’s first realizations when he returns to Martinsville, Iowa after being fired from his weathercaster job in San Diego, California. He drives into town craving his favorite Maid-Rite sandwich, a sloppy joe without the tomato sauce only to find the Maid-Rite shop’s a vegetarian place that serves tofu burgers. At this point it goes from bad to worse for Owen and he’s just arrived.

Welcome to ROOVILLE: A NOVEL by Julie Long which pits a town of fictional Midwesterners against New Age practitioners of mindfulness. It’s a tongue-in-cheek take-off  on what really goes on in Fairfield, Iowa by the followers of the Maharishi Mahesh Yogi. A town Oprah has dubbed “America’s most unusual town.”

ROOVILLE is one of the more refreshingly unusual novels I’ve come across in a long time. It’s certainly fun, full of quirky characters and it has an unexpected heart-warming love story. To be honest I didn’t know what to expect when I started ROOVILLE, but Julie Long’s face-paced narrative took me on a charming journey I didn’t expect and I’m thrilled I didn’t miss.

We’re heading back to BOOK SPARKS UNIVERSITY  http://www.gobooksparks.com  #FRC2015  with Julie Long’s ROOVILLE! http://www.JulieLongWrites.com  and will have more fun books coming up in the next few months from Book Sparks U.

booksparksjulie

Guess what? We have one copy of ROOVILLE to give to one lucky winner this Labor Day weekend! All you need to do is tell us what experience you’ve had with New Age or crystals or yoga or something like that. Personally, I believe meditation is good for me, when I practice it, which I rarely do.

Good luck and we’ll pick a winner Wednesday. Have a wonderful Labor Day Weekend.

Remember to check http://www.cindyroesel.com for more of my reviews and news about my novel, “Viewer Discretion Advised.”

17 thoughts on “ROOVILLE a novel by Julie Long & GIVEAWAY

  1. This sounds like a cute book. My experiences have been limited, but several years ago I tried zumba. Let’s just say it kicked my butt. My daughter talked me into trying yoga and not just yoga, but hot yoga. Needless to say for a woman having hot flashes heat is not something you need. Nope, haven’t been back.
    eppersonkatrina(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well, I am the least Ne-Age-y person, but I tried a style of deep breathing yoga with the idea that I would get my husband to try it after I did. I had a heck of a time zoning out and knew if I couldn’t do it, my husband would be hopeless. Then I tried a ladies only yoga that a new friend was teaching. That style involved focusing on something that you needed help with in your life. It was sort of a therapeutic yoga. Everyone, but me felt refreshed and unburdened after the sharing session. I don’t think New Age and I are compatible, lol!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I chant and meditate with the Hindi on Thursdays and have found Vedanta to be one of the purest teachings on the state of our exisence.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My only experience with yoga was what I learned in an outpatient therapy program. We learned several moves for relaxation to help with anxiety and other stresses.
    We were also taught mindfulness.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I am having a bit more stress than my norm currently, so I am pulling out all the new age-y, relaxation tricks from my arsenal – yoga, meditation (though it’s really hard to consistently practice it, same with yoga), a gratitude journal, and just remembering to find the positive each day and remember to breathe. This book sounds great! I love a quirky book! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

