THE RACE FOR PARIS by Meg Waite Clayton & GIVEAWAY

The Race For Paris (429x648)

“What would it be like,” Liv wondered to herself, “to be in Paris when the Allies arrive to liberate the city? To be able to take pictures as events were unfolding?”

Women journalists were strictly forbidden access to the front lines during WWII but that didn’t keep many from risking their lives to make it to where the fighting was happening so they could report side by side with the men.

New York Times Bestselling Author, Meg Waite Clayton, explores this time in history and creates the story of two women journalists, AP photographer Olivia “Liv” Harper and Nashville Banner writer, Jane Tyler; two courageous women journalists determined to document the liberation of the Allies in 1944 from the Nazis in THE RACE FOR PARIS (HARPER/HarperCollins).

Their journey is further complicated by a love triangle affair, emotional bonds, romantic tensions, and one woman’s secret, a secret with the power to end her career and, possibly her life. Well researched and written with a well paced narrative that will have readers captivated from page one, I certainly was.

meg&meg

I was fortunate to catch up with Meg on her national THE RACE FOR PARIS book tour in Southern California at the Laguna Beach Books. It was a great evening. Meg is incredibly enthusiastic and very passionate about her novel. I could have listened to her talk about THE RACE FOR PARIS all night. During our discussion everyone agreed, THE RACE FOR PARIS is a perfect book for bookclub and hopefully will be turned into a major motion film.

Thanks to TLC Book Tours  http://www.tlcbooktours.com and HARPER/HarperCollins   http://www.harpercollins.com  we have one copy of THE RACE FOR PARIS to giveaway. Just leave a comment about what you think of women journalists. BE HONEST!!!! I spent 25+ years covering the news, I look forward to reading what you write! We’ll pick a winner Friday!

Add to Goodreads badge

Purchase Links

Amazon | IndieBound | Barnes & Noble

About Meg Waite Clayton42186

Meg Waite Clayton is the New York Times bestselling author of four previous novels: The Four Ms. Bradwells; The Wednesday Sisters; The Language of Light, a finalist for the Bellwether Prize; and The Wednesday Daughters. She’s written for the Los Angeles Times, the New York Times, the Washington Post, the San Jose Mercury News, Forbes, Writer’s Digest, Runner’s World, and public radio. A graduate of the University of Michigan Law School, she lives in Palo Alto, California.

Find out more about Meg at her website, and connect with her on Facebook and Twitter.

tlc logo

Thanks to TLC Book Tours for including Thoughts on This ‘n That on this blog tour and for providing a copy of THE RACE FOR PARIS for an honest review. Feel free to check out  http://www.cindyroesel.com  for more of my reviews and news about my novel, “Viewer Discretion Advised.”

I’d like to pause and remember the two journalists who were murdered live Wednesday in Virginia by a former co-worker while reporting live on-air on morning television. Reporter Alison Parker was 24 and photographer Adam Ward, 27. They were just doing their job on the morning show, which is when the audience is waking up, turning to see what the weather is, what they should dress their kids in and many families are eating their breakfast. I pray for all the people who may have been affected.

22 thoughts on “THE RACE FOR PARIS by Meg Waite Clayton & GIVEAWAY

  1. I LOVE women journalists! I think you get a different side of the stories they report on. Maybe a more human side. I wanted my daughter to become a journalist, but it’s a tough profession to go into right now. She still likes the whole idea of being a foreign correspondent, but is afraid it might not be enough to pay the bills. 2 more years of college to get through and then she’s thinking of law school or something else.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t really follow the news or read news articles all that much, but I definitely think it’s great that there are women journalists! 🙂 One of my close friends is a journalist for a local paper and I am always excited to see her name listed under the headline.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Being a journalist is a tough job. I think women have to work a little harder than men to make it in the world of journalism. In my opinion, any one, man or woman, that has the ability to invoke emotions and hold the attention of the readers and viewers, are doing their job.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. There are many strong, intelligent women who becomes journalists, and they do a wonderful job. They might put a little more heart and compassion into a story, so that is good. Thanks for the giveaway.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love the idea behind this story, and I love this period of history. I respect female journalists the same as male journalists; it’s a tough job! Especially covering difficult topics and events.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. My feelings are all over the place on women in journalism. The media plays such an importance in appearance that I am skeptic of a woman “too pretty” What message is she really bringing to the public and yet I am sure there are very credible women who bring the story to the public with integrity and dignity. I do think that my feelings can apply to a man as well he is “too smooth” so I guess I am a skeptic in general.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Women journalists, I’m guessing, probably had it rough in the beginning of their careers, as some think it’s a mans job. I’m seeing more and more female journalists on the news, etc. I think that if a man and a woman started at the bottom, a woman would fight harder to make it to the top.
    After the news today, RIP to the female journalist and her camera man in Virginia.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I love women journalists especially since several have gone on to become some of my favorite authors. I do think it’s more difficult for the ones on tv as they are “picked on” more than their male counterparts for hair and clothing choices. I LOVE that there are now female sports reporters and tv anchors! Just because we are women doesn’t mean we don’t know anything about sports!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I think women journalists are great. I do have to add, though, that I feel men are more conducive to serious or difficult stories. I also feel that women lend a different perspective, and are better at stories involving any emotions. I feel a mix is a good thing.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Respect and courage for all women journalists. The women always seem to be second to men except in some instances like Barbara Walters. But she too, had to really work her way up. My condolences go out to Alison and her fiancé and family.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. So terribly sad and frightening, the murders in Virginia.

    I never thought about women journalists until classmates were going off to Vietnam and I realized women were voluntarily going there to cover the news. What courage. Some of my favorite women journalists are regular contributors to National Geographic. And as an avid sports fan, I am happy to see that we are finally getting some real women journalists, not just the chirpy beauties but women who have as much knowledge and as much to say as their male counterparts. And also glad to see that they might finally be moving a tiny bit past the rule for the women to be young and beautiful. I know how much age and looks play a part even in the business world, can imagine how much more difficult it is whether TV or print journalism.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I actually prefer watching female journalists. I think they always add compassion to a story and make it less like news. I adore Ann Curry and Diane Sawyer.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

