IT’S NOT ME, IT’S YOU & GIVEAWAY For One Lucky Reader

Its-Not-Me-Its-You-196x300

When a reader is told by the author at the beginning of a novel that the two main characters are so perfect for each other, you know where their relationship is heading – and it’s not off to Bora Bora for their Honeymoon.

In IT’S NOT ME, IT’S YOU (HARPER), Delia and Paul have been together for 10-years. Paul owns and runs a pub, Delia has a job she barely tolerates and they share an ugly, loveable rescue dog named, Parsnip. They live for their time together, and Delia believes it’s so wonderful, she decides to propose to Paul that they get married.

This is exactly when Delia’s life implodes. She finds out Paul has been sleeping with someone else – and she thinks it’s somehow her fault. Eventually she gets a bit of sense knocked into her head and leaves Paul. She travels into London to stay with a friend to sort her issues out, gets a job and slowly creates a life without Paul. It isn’t easy, but it’s a hoot to read about.

This is the first time I’ve read Mhairi McFarlane and she’s “pee in your panties funny,” plus she has that additional wicked British wit to boot. Delia ends up working at a PR firm called Twist and Shout for a boss who is a “principle-free, sexual harasser, who spys and threatens firing the members of his staff while inventing cancer, suicide and sex tapes for the press and plots to throw clients overboard if they expose his methods of doing business.” Delia is constantly “washing her brain.”

Don’t be intimidated by the 531 pages. IT’S NOT ME, IT’S YOU moves along  at quick a clip, because of Mhairi McFarlane’s witty, pithy prose.

Thanks to TLC Book Tours and HARPER for providing a copy of IT’S NOT ME, IT’S YOU for an honest review. You can purchase Mhairi’s novels at the following outlets listed below.

BUT FIRST … Guess what wonderful readers? TLC Book Tours and HARPERs have provided a copy of IT’S NOT ME, IT’S  YOU for one lucky reader of Thoughts on This ‘n That. Just leave a comment telling us what you did to help yourself get back on your feet after being “knocked down on your bum” by Monday, June 1st.

Add to Goodreads badge

Purchase Links

Amazon IndieBound | Barnes & Noble

Mhairi McFarlane _AUTHOR PHOTOAbout Mhairi McFarlane

Mhairi McFarlane was born in Scotland in 1976, and has been explaining how to pronounce her name ever since (MH=V sound!). She is the author of You Had Me At Hello, and is based in Nottingham where she’s a freelance writer and blogger. You can follow her on Twitter: @MhairiMcF.

meyou

28 thoughts on “IT’S NOT ME, IT’S YOU & GIVEAWAY For One Lucky Reader

  1. Funny you should ask this question, as I need an answer!! I’ve been knocked down so many times in the last few years that I forget how to get back up! I know I’ve done it in the past, by losing weight, changing jobs, ditching toxic friends, etc. but this time, I’m stuck on my bum!
    When I’m down in the dumps, I guess the most effective way to pick me up is to see my nephews, whether it be in person or via Facetime. Those two little guys always make me dust myself off, laugh, and get on with it!
    Whether I’m selected to win or not, sounds like I definitely need to read this book!! Thanks for a chance!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh boy, this is tough, because I too feel like I’ve been knocked down and I am stuck on my bum. I think lately I’ve lost my gumption. I used to become very focused and that always worked. I lost 30lbs a few years ago by eating 1/2 of what I normally would. The book The Happiness Proct was a big help to me too.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have had cancer for 12 years off and on. I’ve never let it get me down, believing that everyone is going to get something and you just have to deal with it. The doctors say it’s that attitude that’s kept me alive.
    I would love to read this book, we always need something fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m currently knocked down on my bum. I was laid off from my full time job almost 10 months ago and have been struggling to find another job. It has been difficult to stay positive as I never imagined I’d be out of work for this long. It’s a tough market out there. I guess what has kept me sane during this time has been my love of books.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. surrounded myself with people who actually care, weeded out the ones that didn’t…kept busy with something occupying my mind other than what had me knocked down…got over the feeling that i had to be “perfect” (most of the time)…finally asked my doctor for help with the depression that came with a particularly bad bout of Crohn’s disease that changed every aspect of my life. best thing you can do is take it one moment at a time, and ask for help…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve been knocked down more than a few times…up to and including losing my husband in two short months thanks to Agent Orange in Viet Nam. Of ll the things that have happened, this is the hardest but you do what you have to do to reknit your life. Too many wonderful things, be it as small as coming across an unexpected flower blooming in the least likely place, to be discovered, too many chances to help others along the way…you just do it, especially when you least want to.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. As I have grown older, I have learned to calm down and give myself a few days to a week to really think things through before taking my next step. In the past I have been known to react not so nice. This time, however, I surprised many with my reaction (positive and calm) when I was served court papers last month…still going through the legal battle, but I have faith that God will make sure it all comes to a good end.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow. I am just grateful that I was always able to stand back up. Sometimes it took awhile to paste a smile on, but somehow I always did. At 65 I am finally learning to let it go. And now we all have that song stuck in our heads. Just smile and keep moving forward. …… it’s all you can do. And thank you for this opportunity. Sounds like I need to read this!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. My husband was unexpectedly notified that the place he worked was closing so I had a few much to get our bills paid off so we have no bills except utilities.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Ruminating and writing down all of my thoughts and then letting things go has always helped me get back up after being knocked down. That and the realization that things could always be worse.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I’ve lived my entire adult life (turned 51 today…so a very long time!) ill and in pain. It hasn’t been the same thing always, it has been one thing on top of another on top of another. I take nearly 30 different Rx’s, and have many diagnoses. I’m just stubborn enough that I will not give in or give up. I also have hope because of my faith in God. I know He is with me always, and if this life is difficult, the next one will be worth every moment.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I tell myself “there are worse things happening in this world” and that I should be thankful I don’t live in a warzone, and have so much to eat that I need to diet… others aren’t so lucky…

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Lots of physical self-improvement–not just looking better, but becoming healthier. I ate super healthy and got more exercise and that improves a lot of problems. It definitely helps the psyche. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

