GIVEAWAY – HER by Harriet Lane

her

Two different women from very different worlds. They appear to have little in common. Emma is living a simple life stressed out by motherhood. Nina is a successful painter. In Harriet Lane’s second novel, HER: A Novel (Little, Brown and Co.) an unlikely friendship between two women takes readers on a path of toxic secrets, betrayals and more.

“I feel a need to touch her, to experience the heat of her humiliation, so I put my hands on her elbows, holding her still for a moment, and press my cheek against hers. I inhale. Sweat and powder, apple shampoo, the sweet faraway smell of breast milk. I turn my head to let my hair fall across her face for a moment, and then I step back saying how lovely it is to see Christopher again. Nina”

The novel is written in alternating narratives between Emma and Nina, revealing how they become completely wrapped up in each other’s lives. It’s a story of predator and prey.

Lane’s prose are well written and I went along with her plot until the last two chapters. It was then, I realized the full story I had committed to as a reader, and to be honest, I was annoyed. I enjoyed HER, but I felt it wasn’t as strong as Lane’s first novel, ALYS, ALWAYS which kept me up awake turning pages throughout the night.

I have one tradeback copy up for one reader of Thoughts on This ‘n That! Just become a follower of this blog and leave a comment and we’ll pick a winner this Friday. HER will be in the mail on its way to your home for your reading pleasure ASAP.

Thanks to Netgalley http://www.netgalley.com and Little, Brown and Company http://www.littlebrown.com for providing a kindle copy for an honest review. Check out http://www.harrietlane.co.uk/ for all things HARRIET. Go to http://www.cindyroesel.com to read more of my reviews and about my novel, “Viewer Discretion Advised.”

HER will be published January 6th, so now is a perfect time to pre-order your copy on-line or at your local book store.

Best wishes for a happy and healthy 2015!

9 thoughts on “GIVEAWAY – HER by Harriet Lane

  1. Another book that sounds good! I love recommendations. There are so many authors out there, they can easily be overlooked.

    Like

Leave a Reply

