GRATEFUL for my summer vacation to Colorado

I live in South Florida, actually Miami where it’s hot and humid and we’re in the middle of hurricane season. So far, we’ve been fortunate not to have had any big storms, but there are still a few months left ahead … and anything is possible!

20140725_134732[1]

20140730_092804[1]

This is our fourth summer escaping to the serenity of Aspen, Colorado mid-July through mid-August and I just want to scream through the internet how grateful I am. It’s interesting to note when we first arrived it rained and the temperatures dipped below what I’m used to, but that made it perfect for reading. I’ve posted my review for “Summer House with Swimming Pool,” by Herman Koch and I’m almost ready to post “I’m Having So Much Fun Here Without You,” by Courtney Maum. I’ve also read “Friendship: A Novel” and “2 a.m. at the Cat’s Pajamas.”

I haven’t gone to church in a long time, but I found myself walking early one morning and Mass was beginning at St. Mary’s, so I popped in. I was wearing my hiking clothes, but as it turned out, so were many people. There were about fifty-sixty people in attendance, a nice gathering. I enjoyed the feeling of community especially when we turned to one another and offered the sign of peace. Each person seemed to share a sense of vulnerability, that I haven’t felt in a long time. We looked into the other’s eyes without putting up shields. I’m trying to figure out if this was because I was in church or a quiet mountain town. Guess I’ll know when I return to South Florida and whether or not I return to church.

20140801_194750[1]

Another glorious experience I’ve enjoyed again this year is the Aspen Chamber Symphony. The students play, guest performers come in from all over the world and I had the privilege of hearing world-renown violinist, Sarah Chang perform. She’s 28 and made her debut with the New York Philharmonic at the age of eight. Chang played a Dvorak piece flawlessly that is rarely ever attempted. As she arched her back into contortions and hit notes I’ve never heard before that moment on her violin explode into the heavens dissipating she was a mystical dancer for all to adore. It was nothing less than a sensual experience. She seem so humbled by the cheers and standing ovation calling for her return to the stage.

20140730_154328[1]

This is the fifth annual year of Art Aspen. It’s the gathering of twenty-five galleries from across the country, several of them from Miami. Initially I heard about it, from a gallery I know in North Carolina who used to come but no longer shows. Thursday was opening night and it was fun. We saw some people we know and the art was interesting… nothing that really excited me! They had a birthday cake for the fifth anniversary and a really delish vodka raspberry drink!

20140730_154302[1]

20140730_155131[1]

We took the gondola up Aspen Mountain to the top of Ajax which we do every year.. This time I met a new friend at the hotel who was heading back to New York and only had one day, so I suggested going to the top of Ajax. Once up there we got a bite, had a glass of wine and then we saw red fox! WOW! Apparently, a lot of animals are coming into the town, including bears. There are articles in the paper about how to live with bears and what to do if you encounter a bear. My thought on that, is NOT to come in contact with a bear. We have our own problems to deal with in Miami that are equally not pleasant and dangerous. But of course, we have the upside!

I hope you’re enjoying your summer vacation! I’d love to hear how you’re spending yours.

20140730_155347_Richtone(HDR)[1]

 

 

2 thoughts on “GRATEFUL for my summer vacation to Colorado

  1. I stumbled upon your blog and found a photo of my son! He was a percussionist in the Aspen Chamber Symphony this summer. He’s partially visible behind the bass drum on the far left edge of the photo. I’m glad you posted it! I, too, am grateful that I was able to spend some time in Aspen this summer and see a few concerts.

    Like

    1. So good to hear from you, Deborah! I was delighted to read your post! Your son’s participation in the chamber added so much joy to my summer vacation. See you next summer. Cindy

      Like

Leave a Reply

